Jonny Walker Claims Overall Win in Round Two Thriller


REDMOND, OREGON (September 26) – The UK’s Jonny Walker took the overall win at round two of the 2022 Geico AMA EnduroCross Series with 1-1-3 moto finishes in Redmond, Oregon, September 24. It was the first win for Walker in the AMA series in just his second attempt. Three- time AMA EnduroCross Cham- pion Cody Webb finished second overall with 3-4-1 moto finishes on his FactoryOne Sherco, while Ryder LeBlond earned his first-ever EnduroCross podium with 9-2-2 moto scores on his Husqvarna.

Webb kicked off the evening by setting the fastest hot-lap time of 56.653 seconds to earn the first gate pick for the first of the three main events. FMF KTM’s Trystan Hart was second fastest with Walker third. Defending EnduroCross Champion Colton Haaker finished fourth and Coo- per Abbott rounded out the top five.

Walker, who had a mediocre first round with an eighth-place overall finish, utilized his Beta 300 two-stroke to win the first of the three pro main events. Haaker, who had an equally tough first round was quick to turn his first- round results around, as well, with a second-place finish. Webb finished third with Abbott and Hart rounding out the top five.

Despite starting race two on the second row, Walker again took the win in the second moto to take a strong lead going into the third main event. LeBlond, the young Pennsylvanian that finished second in the U.S. Hard Enduro Championship, had his best EnduroCross moto result to date with a second-place finish.

Round-one winner Taddy Blazusiak (GasGas) finished third in moto two. Webb was fourth followed by Haaker. The big development in moto two involved Trystan Hart who led for a few laps before a mechanical failure dropped him to a 16th-place finish in the moto.

In the final moto, Webb made a last-lap pass on LeBlond, who was momentarily held up by a lapped rider entering the rock section. It was still an impressive ride for LeBlond, who finished the moto in second. Walker earned his third podium finish of the evening with a third in the final moto, despite also getting held up by a lapped rider on the last lap. Hart finished fourth and Blazusiak rounded out the top five in the third moto.

Walker easily took the overall win for the evening with a low score of five points. Webb was second best with eight points, and LeBlond edged out Haaker for the final podium spot with a tiebreaker better finish in the final moto. Haaker finished fourth overall and Blazusiak rounded out the top five.

Blazusiak holds a three-point lead over Walker after two of six rounds. Hart is third, nine points behind Blazusiak. LeBlond and Haaker are tied for fourth, 13 points behind the leader.

In the Women’s pro class, defending champion Shelby Turner (KTM) took the win. It was a good bounce back from a third-place finish at the opening round.

Louise Forsley (Sherco) finished second and Rachel Gutish (GasGas) rounded out the podium. (Press Release via CycleNews)

Photo Credit: Jack Jaxson


1. Jonny Walker (Bet) 1-1-3

2. Cody Webb (She) 3-4-1

3. Ryder LeBlond (Hus) 9-2-2

4. Colton Haaker (Hus) 2-5-6

5. Taddy Blazusiak (GG) 8-3-5

6. Max Gerston (GG) 6-8-7

7. Cooper Abbott (She) 4-9-9

8. Ty Cullins (TM) 7-6-11

9. Trystan Hart (KTM) 5-16-14

 10. Nick Thompson 12-11-8

Full Results from Round 2: